*********************************************************

                                 Widget Workshop ReadMe


This file contains some important corrections and last-minute information for Widget Workshop. Please read ityou'll have more fun with Widget Workshop if you do.

***  Documentation Corrections (oops) ***
Here are some corrections to the Widget Workshop documentation. For more information, see the OOPS sheet in the Widget Workshop box.

Mad Scientists Guide
We had to change the way that Counters work, so a couple of the widgets that use Counters dont quite work right. On page 32, in the Number Guessing Game, replace the Counter with a Totaler. On page 37, in the Probability Tester, replace the three counters on the right (Both Heads, Both Tails, 1 Head/1 Tail) with Totalers. Then theyll work just fine.

Experiment and Activity Book
  On page 4, in the experiment A Light Year Away, there are two mistakes. Get Set #2, should say, set the last part to 365 not to 360. (At our age we oughta know that there are 365 days in a year.  Go figure.)  And to top it off, the picture of the widget is wrong.  Please check the OOPS sheet to see the new screen shot.

  On page 32, the experiment The Gene Machine needs a few extra parts: the input to each Message List part needs a 1 (one) added to it. You can do this by inserting an Adder just before each of the Message List parts, then connect a Mini Three-Digit Number (Beginning Number set to 1) to the other input of each Adder. Do this for all four Message List parts and you're all set. Please check the OOPS sheet to see the new screen shot.

  On page 38, the experiment Heartbeat Comparer needs a few extra parts: the Message List part needs a 1 (one) added to it. Please follow the instructions found above for the Gene Machine. Check the OOPS sheet to see the new screen shot.
  
  On page 39, in the experiment Sending Sounds, check your OOPS sheet to see the new screen shot.
 
  On page 54, in the Secret Code Generator, there is one more steplets call it step 3 1/2. Each of the Graphic Projectors needs to be set to Wrap Around Set. 

  On page 58, the picture of the experiment is right, but the parts list is wrong. One of those Light Switches in the list is supposed to be a Switcher.

  There are also a few places in the Experiment and Activity book where we said Tuner. We meant Tuning Fork. At least we were close....

Apology
Some of these corrections were caused by last-second changes in the program, others were just plain goof-ups.  Were sorry.  Well try not to let it happen again.


***  While Weve Got Your Attention...  A Few Helpful Facts ***

In the Macintosh version of Widget Workshop:

  The Preferred Memory Size is set to 2400 KB. This setting will work on computers with as little as 4 MB of RAM. If you have a computer with 8MB or more, you may want to increase the Preferred Size (to 5000 KB, for example). Increasing the Preferred Size will give Widget Workshop more memory so you can build bigger widgets. To increase the Preferred Size: 
		Single-Click on the Widget Workshop icon in the finder.
		Open the File menu and select Get Info to open the Information window.
		Highlight the number 2400 in the box next to the words "Preferred size."
		Type in a new number (5000).
		Close the Information window.

	Keyboard Equivalents:

		GO: 			ENTER 
		STOP:		Esc
		Cut Tool:		Option Key
		Move Tool:		Control Key
	  Delete:   Delete Key (not the del-with-an-X)

	There are no Scroll Bars.

	If you put a number that is too big or too small into a Ten-Digit or Three-Digit Display it wont blink, but it will be covered by a red X.

	Icons in the Tooltray that are unavailable because of a lack of memory are grayed out, they dont have a sad face over them.

  Recorders use the most memory. If you run out of memory and need some other parts, cut out some Recorders. After Recorders, the other sound parts use the most memory.

	There is no Paper/Metal item in the Options menu, and the Steel/Tile item has been renamed to just plain Steel.

	Stand-alone widgets can be very big. They can even be too big to fit on a floppy disk unless you first compress them using some sort of data compression program.

	If you save a puzzle, it will be saved as a regular widgetand the one on the screen will automatically become a regular widget. You can solve it, but it wont be marked as solved in the Load Puzzle dialog box. If you want to solve a puzzle and have it marked solved, you have to do it in one sittingwithout saving.

	Here are two settings that may improve print quality for widgets:

In the Page Setup option from the File menu, choose  Landscape orientation (the right-hand one of the two Orientation icons).

In the Print dialog box, choose "Color/Grayscale" instead of "Black&White" before you click on Print.

  The sounds that you record in the Recorder will play back at a fairly low sound volume.

  If you want to start up Widget Workshop quickly, you can just double-click on a "blank" saved widget (if you want to start up with a blank Work Area), or on any saved widget for that matter.


System Info/ Conflicts

  When you install Widget Workshop, the installer will copy a "system extension" called Sound Manager 3.0, written by Apple Computer, into your System Folder.  While not absolutely required for most users, it is a good thing to have in your System Folder, and some users may have trouble starting or running Widget Workshop unless Sound Manager is present. So please keep it in there, for your own peace of mind.

  The Apple "32-Bit QuickDraw" routines are needed in order to allow Widget Workshop to run properly. If you have a Mac IIci or a later Macintosh model that has "32-Bit QuickDraw" in ROM, this note won't apply to you. If you have an earlier model, 32-Bit QuickDraw is a file that should be on one of the System Software disks that came with your computer, and it must be installed before Widget Workshop will be able to run.

  We have found that the ColorMaster extension (version 1.2.1) can cause the wrong cursor to appear in part dialogs after you save a stand-alone widget. This may also be a caused by other extensions you may have that change and/or colorize the cursor. You can turn off the conflicting extension if you'd like, but you should be able to reset the cursor by just moving the mouse up to the menu bar and back down to the Work Area.

